Love Actually

I love movies, so don’t be surprised if you read a lot about them here. Yes, it is not all Twilight. People get shocked about that part of me, being a gun-ho Twihard that I am lately.

Actually, this entry is not that much about the movies either. It is to say ” Thank you” to the ones that served. I know one particular regular reader of my blog currently deployed in Iraq. Veterans Day is right around the corner, so to the ones that are out there today- be safe and come back home in one piece. My gift to you today is a story, that reminds me a little of The Things They Carried. An old co-worker of mine, a Marine told it to me.

One of my favorite chick flicks of all times is Love Actually. It is set in Christmas and it is about people, friends and strangers who are all in someway interconnected, and the many ways they experience love. A husband mourning the loss of his wife, a  boy experiencing his first girl crush, a wife finding that her husband is having an emotional affair, a loyal sister and her relationship with her brother who is at a mental hospital, a guy hopelessly in-love with the new bride of his best friend, etc.  Many intertwining stories, both silly and touching at the same time.  It is a great holiday movie, romantic and upbeat, some good music too.

One day, while I was listening its soundtrack in my office, my co-worker recognized that it is from Love Actually. ” You know this movie? ” I asked in surprise, it being a chick flick and all. “Oh , yeah” he said ” it was very popular when I was in Afghanistan. We kept passing the DVD around”.  He went on to say that it is beautiful, and many people connected to the love stories.

I find this story of a bunch Marines passing around a chick flick right in the middle of the worst places to be, when it comes to war zones,  both hilarious and beautiful. You must admit it is funny. You wouldn’t expect it. Not from the military.

And that is what makes it beautiful, because in the end we are all human, no matter who we are and where we are.  To many, the thought of a solider or a Marine in this case, coming out of a war zone and who has experienced a lot of casualties, is connected to a hardened, damaged individual, not a softy. I guess, people have this image that war pulls out humanity right out of you. But I they forget, how strong the human spirit is. And that even in a war zone, we all need love, no matter where it comes from, even if it is a chick flick.

About aneliapetrova

Looking for a creative outlet, or myself... and a place to share my little inspirations wherever they come from- food, movies, life, random thoughts, or the biggest of them all my obsession with the Twilight Series.
This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

